MenĂ¼
  • Healthy positive happy woman holding a paper shopping bag full of fruit and vegetables
FODMAP-CONCEPT

What types of “FOOD” are good for a sensitive digestive system?

The FODMAP Food Concept has been researched since 2005 and has proven to be effective in several scientific studies on patients with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS).

Application of this type of diet and the FODMAP level of food is subject to ongoing research. Therefore it is important to use the latest findings and up-to-date lists.

What is FODMAP and how does it work?

FODMAP stands for "Fermentable Oligo, Di, Monosaccharides and Polyols". These are short-chained carbohydrate compounds including fructose, lactose, fructans, galactans as well as sugar alcohols such as sorbitol. These substances are present by nature in certain foods or are added during the food production process.

FODMAPs act in the digestive tract in two main mechanisms: They remove water from the small intestine (osmotic effect) and they are also quickly fermented in the large intestine (strong fermentation).

In sensitive people, this may result in symptoms such as bloating, tummy ache, diarrhoea and/or obstipation.

Limiting the intake of food rich in FODMAPs as a test can make sense because several scientific studies have shown that a low FODMAP diet (LFD) can significantly reduce the symptoms and improve quality of life.

Why doesn’t everybody tolerate high FODMAP food?

The individual tolerance to FODMAP can be different from person to person. It is dependent, amongst others, on the following factors:

  • digestive capacity (breakdown and absorption of nutrient)
  • susceptibility of the intestinal tract in terms of perception of stimuli and control of intestinal movement
  • composition of microbiota in the intestine (“gut flora”)

In the case of intolerance and/or hypersensitivity of the intestinal tract (e.g. because of a functional bowel condition such as irritable bowel syndrome), FODMAPs are not easily tolerated.

How can I find out whether I can tolerate FODMAP or not?

Today, there is still not an easy method to find out whether a person is sensitive to FODMAP or not. The best approach is therefore to start with Phase 1 of the FODMAP concept. This is the so called “diagnostic elimination diet”. It involves reducing the intake of FODMAPs for a limited period of time. If doing so, everything else in terms of food, intake of drugs and lifestyle should remain as normal as possible. This makes it possible to assess at the end whether FODMAPs have played a role in the symptoms or not.

Phase 2 is then about trying to find out precisely which FODMAP and to what extent it is causing the symptoms. This allows the individual FODMAP tolerance (or “FODMAP sensitivity”) to be determined.

The three phases of the FODMAP concept

The FODMAP concept consists of three phases with different objectives and nutritional recommendations:

Phase 1- Diagnostic elimination: For a period of two to six weeks, any food rich in FODMAPs will be avoided while adhering to a low FODMAP diet (LFD).

This phase has seen the most research, discussions and publications so far. However, this is the first stage and is not intended for a long-term diet!

Phase 1 serves the purpose of finding out whether the symptoms can be relieved and wellbeing improved.

After Phase 1, you will know:

Does it help me to limit FODMAPs?

Phase 2 - FODMAP Re-Exposition/“FODMAP Challenge“: This aims at finding out which FODMAP foods will be tolerated and in what amounts. In this phase many insights can be gained on personal triggers and individual FODMAP tolerance. This allows the diet to be personalized.

After Phase 2, you will know:

How many FODMAPs can I tolerate?

Which food is not good for me?

Phase 3 - Individual long-term diet: The objective is to control the symptoms as effectively as possible by restricting as little food as possible in the diet. The diet should also be healthy and balanced because this is extremely important for human health and the intestine.

After Phase 3, you will know:

Can I eliminate what causes my symptoms?

Do I eat everything I can tolerate?

Is my diet balanced and varied?

Prior to starting with a low FODMAP diet, celiac disease should be excluded by means of a blood test. All other insights (e.g. on lactose/fructose tolerance) will be gained during the three phases of the FODMAP concept.

Understanding and implementing the FODMAP concept correctly is complex and elaborate.

For long-term success, it is decisive that the FODMAP concept is used individually and in a targeted fashion. Therefore, (starting with Phase 2 at the latest) it should be applied under the supervision of an experienced nutritionist. They will support proper application, help with choosing individual key aspects and recommend additional measures, if needed.

The FODMAP level in food

The FODMAP level in food can be analyzed in a laboratory. Since 2007, data has been published and since 2012, the Monash University has made it available via an app. The FODMAP database is growing, slowly but surely.

The analysis of different FODMAPs in food is sophisticated and expensive. With the purchase of the Monash Low FODMAP App, you will be contributing to the analysis of more food.

http://www.med.monash.edu.au/cecs/gastro/fodmap/iphone-app.html

However, pure FODMAP figures are not very helpful in daily life. For daily use, the measuring results have to be recalculated to normal serving sizes and recommendations on food choices have to be implemented (lists, tables).

 

FODMAP food table for download

My FODMAP food table is based on published data on FODMAP levels, realistic serving sizes and my long-term experience with implementing the concept in practice.

Here, you can find two versions of my most current list:

Download the table HERE for free.

Detailed version (10 pages in PDF file)

Abbreviated version (3 pages in PDF file)

The first list provides a lot of detailed information, for example, on amounts. The abbreviated list provides a good overview and is suitable for sticking on your fridge door or taking with you while shopping for groceries.

FODMAP level in processed products

The FODMAP level in processed food can be estimated based on the list of ingredients. A nutritional specialist can elaborate on this for you. Please note that not all products labelled as gluten-free and lactose-free are also low FODMAP foods.

Special case - bread: The FODMAP level in bread is difficult to estimate from the list of ingredients. One reason for this is that the FODMAP level of flour plays a role here. There are certain differences, sometimes within the same type of grain such as spelt or wheat. If the bread is made from various flours, the ratio of their quantities is often not known. For example, the effective proportion of wheat flour cannot be seen from the list of ingredients. On the other hand, the type and amount of leavening agent (e.g. how much yeast or sourdough were used) and the time during processing (e.g. dough rest period) also need to be considered because these factors contribute to a certain degree to the breakdown of FODMAPs present in the dough. These imponderabilities and uncertainties impede reliable estimations on the FODMAP level of bread.

Why is it important to have an individual nutrition consultancy?

A low FODMAP diet is a therapeutic diet applied in the case of digestive disorders, e.g. irritable bowel syndrome. Prior to changing a diet, a careful medical check-up is important. Experts as well as the developers of the FODMAP concept recommend applying the FODMAP concept only when accompanied by a specifically trained nutritionist.

There are three good reasons for that:

The FODMAP concept involves many changes in diet and many guidelines and recommendation have to be followed.

Nutritionists know whether the FODMAP concept is right for you and will arrange for further assessment before you start. They recognize the factors that are relevant for you, set priorities and identify solutions that will fit into your daily routine in the long run.

Nutritionists make sure that the diet not only remedies any problems but also that it is balanced and nutritious. For example, they recognize unnecessary limitations or the risk of lack of nutrients. They suggest alternatives, encourage trying certain foods and recommend supplements, if needed.

The FODMAP concept is a relatively new type of diet and subject to ongoing research. Information and lists provided in books or on the internet are often outdated or incomplete.

Nutritionists can provide you with the latest information such as lists, records and tips and tricks. They are familiar with the daily life situation of the person concerned. You can benefit from the experience and expertise of a nutritionist.

One key to success for the FODMAP concept is that the link between diet and disorders are recognized and understood.

Nutritionists can explain details of the FODMAP concept and complex relationships. They can answer your questions and support you in the implementation into practice and your daily life schedule. This not only increases your motivation but also improves the chance of a successful outcome.

Nutritionists instruct you on how to determine your personal FODMAP tolerance. This allows you to personalize nutrition recommendations and to prevent unnecessary restrictions.

Nutritionists also take other aspects of your health into consideration and are able to combine the low FODMAP diet with other dietary measures, if needed.

Beatrice Schilling and FODMAP

The first time I read about FODMAP was in 2006 – and ever since then, the term was on my mind. For quite some time, I had the feeling that the commonly provided nutritional recommendations for people suffering from irritable bowel syndrome at that time were not helping very much.

However, back then it was difficult to get any information on FODMAP at all. There were neither food lists nor detailed recommendations or other tools available. Added to that, all information was in English, while I lived in a German-speaking country.

This is why I collected all the available facts in the published studies and drafted my first, rudimentary food list in German. I then started to test the new diet to the best of my knowledge and in agreement with my patients.

It was clear, even in these first few years that there was a large potential inherent in the new findings around FODMAPs. Suddenly, there was an explanation as to why certain food causes problems. Many people who suspected that gluten was the cause of their symptoms felt better after they limited their FODMAP intake because apart from staying away from wheat, they also reduced other high FODMAP foods in their diet.

During this time, I developed more tools for implementation as well as guidance materials. I It was important that the information should not only be on food rich in FODMAPs but also on low FODMAP alternatives and the healthy implementation of the FODMAP concept into the daily diet. For the resulting consultation concept “Low FODMAP Diet”, I received the Nestlé Nutrition Award for Nutrition Communication and Consultation in 2005.

At a very early stage, I found out that background information and detailed knowledge are decisive for nutritionists to understand and correctly implement this complex diet. This is why I dedicated a lot of my time to researching and exchanging information with other FODMAP pioneers from all over the world. Very soon, I began sharing my know-how with professional colleagues by delivering lectures and holding seminars on FODMAPs.

Over the past few years more and more food products have been analyzed for their FODMAP levels. The experiences in applying this type of diet and professional exchanges on this subject have been growing.

Today, many people are seeking specific nutritional advice in order to try the FODMAP concept: Patients who not only suffer from irritable bowel syndrome but also from other digestive disorders, for example caused by inflammations or surgery of the abdomen or from chronically inflammatory bowel disorders and celiac disease.

Many of these patients have been able to reduce their symptoms by this (additional) change of diet and regain wellbeing. This makes me happy and content, over and over again.

MenĂ¼
  • Healthy positive happy woman holding a paper shopping bag full of fruit and vegetables
  • Internet Information Digital Networking Search Concept
FODMAP-KONZEPT

Welcher „FOOD“ tut dem empfindlichen Darm gut?

Das FODMAP-Ernährungskonzept wird seit 2005 erforscht und hat sich bei Reizdarmsyndrom in verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Studien als wirksam erwiesen.

Die Anwendung dieser Ernährungsform und der FODMAP-Gehalt der Nahrungsmittel werden laufend weiter erforscht. Es ist deshalb wichtig, die neuesten Erkenntnisse zu nutzen und aktuelle Listen zu verwenden.

Was sind FODMAP und wie wirken sie?

FODMAP steht für „Fermentierbare Oligo-, Di-, Monosaccharide und Polyole“. Darunter versteht man kurzkettige Kohlhydratverbindungen wie Fruktose, Laktose, Fruktane, Galaktane sowie Zuckeralkohole wie Sorbit. Diese kommen natürlicherweise in gewissen Nahrungsmitteln vor oder werden bei der Nahrungsmittelproduktion zugesetzt.

FODMAPs haben zwei Hauptwirkungen im Verdauungstrakt: Sie ziehen im Dünndarm Wasser in den Darm (= osmotisch wirksam) und werden im Dickdarm sehr schnell vergärt (starke Fermentation).

Dies kann bei empfindlichen Personen zu Beschwerden wie Blähungen, Bauchschmerzen, Durchfall und/oder Verstopfung führen.

Ein versuchsweises Einschränken der FODMAPs-reichen Nahrungsmittel kann sinnvoll sein, da verschiedene wissenschaftliche Studien zeigen, dass eine FODMAP-arme Ernährung („low FODMAP diet“, LFD) zu einer starken Reduktion der Beschwerden und zu einer Verbesserung der Lebensqualität führt.

Wie kann ich herausfinden, ob ich FODMAP vertrage?

Es gibt heute noch keine einfache Testmethode, um herauszufinden, ob eine Person FODMAP-sensitiv ist. Der beste Weg ist, die 1. Phase des FODMAP-Konzeptes  zu machen. Dies ist eine sogenannte „Diagnostische Eliminations-Diät“. Es geht darum, die FODMAPs für einen  begrenzten Zeitraum zu reduzieren. Dabei sollte möglichst alles andere beim Essen, bei der Medikamenteneinnahme und im Leben stabil bleiben. So kann danach beurteilt werden, ob die FODMAPs bei den Beschwerden eine Rolle spielen.

In der 2. Phase kann dann gezielt herausgefunden werden, welche FODMAP, in welcher Menge Beschwerden verursachen. So kann die individuelle FODMAP-Toleranz (oder „FODMAP-Sensitivität“) herausgefunden werden.

Die drei Phasen des FODMAP-Konzeptes

Das FODMAP besteht aus drei Phasen mit unterschiedlichen Zielen und Ernährungsempfehlungen:

1. Phase: Diagnostische Elimination: Für 2-6 Wochen werden alle FODMAP-reichen Nahrungsmittel gemieden und eine FODMAP-arme Ernährung durchgeführt (= low FODMAP diet = LFD).

Über diese Phase wird am meisten geforscht, diskutiert und geschrieben. Sie ist aber nur der erste Schritt und nicht als Langzeiternährung gedacht!

Die erste Phase dient dazu herauszufinden, ob Beschwerden nachlassen und sich das Wohlbefinden verbessert.

Nach der 1. Phase wissen Sie:

Hilft mir eine FODMAP-Einschränkung?

2. Phase: FODMAP-Re-Exposition/“FODMAP-Challenge“: Es wird gezielt getestet, welche FODMAP-Nahrungsmittel in welchen Mengen vertragen werden. In dieser Phase können viele Erkenntnisse in Bezug auf die persönlichen Beschwerdeauslöser und die individuelle FODMAP-Toleranz gewonnen werden. Dies ermöglicht die Ernährung zu personalisieren.

Nach der 2. Phase wissen Sie:

Wie viele FODMAP vertrage ich?

Was tut mir nicht gut?

3. Phase: Individuelle Langzeit-Ernährung: Ziel ist, mit möglichst wenigen Nahrungseinschränkungen die Beschwerden genügend wirksam zu kontrollieren. Die Ernährung soll ausserdem gesund und ausgewogen sein, da dies für die Gesundheit und den Darm besonders wichtig ist.

Nach der 3. Phase wissen Sie:

Lasse ich das weg, was mir Beschwerden verursacht?

Nehme ich alles, was ich vertrage?

Esse ich ausgewogen und vielseitig?

Vor Start der FODMAP-armen Ernährung sollte eine Zöliakie durch einen Bluttest ausgeschlossen werden. Alle anderen Erkenntnisse (z. B. zur Verträglichkeit von Laktose/Fruktose) können während der drei Phasen des FODMAP-Konzeptes gewonnen werden.

Das FODMAP-Konzept zu verstehen und richtig durchzuführen ist komplex und aufwändig.

Entscheidend für den Langzeiterfolg ist, dass das FODMAP-Konzept individuell und gezielt angewendet wird. Deshalb sollte es (spätestens ab der 2. Phase) in Begleitung einer erfahrenen Ernährungsfachperson durchgeführt werden. Diese unterstützt bei der korrekten Durchführung, hilft bei der Wahl der individuell angepassten Schwerpunkte und empfiehlt bei Bedarf noch zusätzliche Maßnahmen.

Der FODMAP-Gehalt der Nahrungsmittel

Der FODMAP-Gehalt der Nahrungsmittel kann im Labor gemessen werden. Seit 2007 werden Daten publiziert und seit 2012 auch via Monash University App zur Verfügung gestellt. Die FODMAP-Datenbank wächst langsam, aber stetig.

Das Messen der verschiedenen FODMAP in Nahrungsmitteln ist aufwändig und teuer. Mit dem Kauf der Monash Low FODMAP App unterstützen Sie die Analyse von weiteren Nahrungsmitteln.

http://www.med.monash.edu.au/cecs/gastro/fodmap/iphone-app.html

FODMAP-Zahlen alleine nützen allerdings im Alltag nicht viel. Die Messresultate müssen für den täglichen Gebrauch in übliche Portionengrössen umgerechnet und in Empfehlungen zur Nahrungsmittel-Wahl (Listen, Tabellen) umgesetzt werden.

Warum gibt es verschiedene FODMAP-Listen?

Die FODMAP-Ernährungstabelle zum Herunterladen

Meine FODMAP-Ernährungstabelle beruht auf den publizierten Daten zum FODMAP-Gehalt, realistischen Portionengrössen und meiner langjährigen Erfahrung mit einer praxisnahen Umsetzung.

Sie finden hier meine aktuellste Liste in zwei Versionen:

Detaillierte Version (10 Seiten als PDF)

Tabelle HIER kostenlos downloaden

Kurzfassung (3 Seiten als PDF)

Tabelle HIER kostenlos downloaden

Die erste Liste gibt Ihnen viele Detailinformationen, beispielweise zu den Mengen. Die Kurzfassung gibt eine gute Übersicht, eignet sich als „Kühlschrankliste“ und zum Einkaufen.

Der FODMAP-Gehalt von verarbeiteten Produkten

Bei verarbeiteten Produkten kann der FODMAP-Gehalt anhand der Zutatenliste abgeschätzt werden. Lassen Sie sich die Details von einer Ernährungsfachperson erklären. Achten Sie speziell darauf, dass nicht alle laktose- und glutenfreien Produkte auch FODMAP-arm sind.

Spezialfall Brot: Der FODMAP-Gehalt von Brot kann nur schwer anhand der Zutatenliste abgeschätzt werden. Einerseits spielt der FODMAP-Gehalt des Mehls eine Rolle. Da gibt es gewisse Unterschiede, zum Teil sogar innerhalb der gleichen Getreidesorte wie Dinkel und Weizen. Falls das Brot aus verschiedenen Mehlen besteht, ist meist nicht ersichtlich, in welchem Verhältnis sie verwendet wurden. So kann beispielsweise der effektive Anteil Weizenmehl nicht erkannt werden. Zudem spielen die Art und Menge des Treibmittels (wie viel Hefe bzw. ob Sauerteig verwendet wurde) und die zeitlichen Abläufe (Dauer der Teigruhe) eine wichtige Rolle, da diese zu einem gewissen Abbau der vorhandenen FODMAP beitragen. Diese Unklarheiten und Unsicherheitsfaktoren machen das Abschätzen des FODMAP-Gehaltes von Brot  schwierig und unzuverlässig.

Warum eine individuelle Ernährungsberatung wichtig ist

Die FODMAP-arme Ernährung ist eine therapeutische Ernährung bei Verdauungsbeschwerden z.B. Reizdarmsyndrom. Eine sorgfältige ärztliche Abklärung vor Beginn der Ernährungsumstellung ist wichtig. Experten und die FODMAP-Konzept-Entwickler empfehlen das FODMAP-Konzept in Begleitung einer speziell geschulten Ernährungsberaterin durchzuführen.

Drei gute Gründe sind:

Das FODMAP-Konzept ist eine grosse Umstellung und beinhaltet viele Richtlinien und Empfehlungen.

Eine Ernährungsberaterin weiß, ob das FODMAP-Konzept für Sie das Richtige ist und veranlasst bei Bedarf vor dem Start weitere Abklärungen. Sie erkennt die für Sie relevante Themen, setzt individuelle Schwerpunkte und findet alltagstaugliche und langfristig durchführbare Lösungen.

Eine Ernährungsberaterin achtet darauf, dass die Ernährung nicht nur gegen die Beschwerden wirkt, sondern auch ausgewogen und bedarfsdeckend ist. Sie erkennt beispielsweise unnötige Einschränkungen oder das Risiko für Nährstoff-Mängel. Sie schlägt Alternativen vor, ermutigt gewisse Nahrungsmittel gezielt auszuprobieren oder empfiehlt bei Bedarf Supplemente als Ergänzung.

Das FODMAP-Konzept ist eine relativ neue Ernährungsform und wird laufend weiter erforscht. Informationen und Listen in Büchern und im Internet sind oft veraltet oder unvollständig.

Eine Ernährungsberaterin kann Ihnen die aktuellsten Informationen geben: z. B. Listen, Protokolle und “Tipps und Tricks”. Sie kennt die Alltagssituation der Betroffenen. So können Sie von der Erfahrung und Expertise der Ernährungsberaterin profitieren.

Ein Erfolgsschlüssel des FODMAPs-Konzeptes ist, dass die Zusammenhänge zwischen der Ernährung und den Beschwerden erkannt und verstanden werden.

Eine Ernährungsberaterin kann Ihnen die Hintergründe des FODMAP-Konzeptes und die komplexen Zusammenhänge erklären. Sie kann Ihre Fragen beantworten und Sie bei der korrekten Durchführung im Alltag unterstützen. Das erhöht nicht nur die Motivation sondern auch den Erfolg.

Eine Ernährungsberaterin leitet Sie an, wie Sie Ihre individuelle FODMAP-Toleranz herausfinden können. Dadurch können die Ernährungsempfehlungen personalisiert und unnötige Einschränkungen vermieden werden.

Eine Ernährungsberaterin berücksichtigt auch andere Aspekte Ihrer gesundheitlichen Situation und kombiniert die FODMAP-arme Ernährung bei Bedarf mit weiteren Ernährungsformen und/oder Maßnahmen.

Beatrice Schilling und FODMAP

Im Jahr 2006 las ich das erste Mal über FODMAP - und seither liess mich dieser Begriff nicht mehr los! Denn ich hatte schon länger den Eindruck, dass Personen mit Reizdarmsyndrom mit den damals üblichen Ernährungsempfehlungen nicht gut genug geholfen werden konnte.

Informationen über FODMAP waren zu dem Zeitpunkt allerdings schwierig zu bekommen. Es gab weder Nahrungsmittellisten oder konkrete Empfehlungen noch andere Hilfsmittel. Zudem waren alle Informationen in Englisch.

Darum sammelte ich alle verfügbaren Fakten aus den publizierten Studien und entwarf meine erste, noch rudimentäre Nahrungsmittel-Liste in Deutsch. So begann ich, diese neue Ernährungsform nach bestem Wissen und in Absprache bei meinen Patienten und Patientinnen auszuprobieren.

Schon in diesen ersten Jahren zeigte sich deutlich, was für ein grosses Potential im neuen Wissen um die FODMAP steckt. Plötzlich konnte erklärt werden, warum gewisse Nahrungsmittel Beschwerden machen. Viele Personen, die Gluten als Verursacher der Beschwerden verdächtigten, ging es mit einer FODMAP-Einschränkung noch besser, da sie neben Weizen weitere FODMAP-reichen Nahrungsmittel reduzierten.

In dieser Zeit entwickelte ich weitere Hilfsmittel für die Umsetzung und Beratungsunterlagen. Denn es sollte nicht nur vermittelt werden, was FODMAP-reich ist, sondern auch, was FODMAP-arme Alternativen sind und wie das FODMAP-Konzept gesund im Alltag umgesetzt werden kann. Für das daraus entstandene Beratungskonzept „FODMAP-arme Ernährung“ erhielt ich 2015 den Nestlé Ernährungspreis für Ernährungskommunikation und -beratung.

Schon früh realisierte ich, dass Hintergrundwissen und Detailkenntnisse für Ernährungsfachpersonen entscheidend sind, um diese komplexe Ernährungsform zu verstehen und richtig anzuwenden. Darum verwendete ich viel Zeit für Recherchen und den Austausch mit anderen FODMAP-Pionierinnen auf der ganzen Welt. Dieses Wissen teilte ich schon bald mit meinen Berufskolleginnen und -kollegen, indem ich Referate und Kurse zum Thema FODMAP hielt.

Über die Jahre wurden immer mehr Nahrungsmittel auf ihren FODMAP-Gehalt hin analysiert. Die Erfahrung in der Anwendung dieser Ernährungsform und der fachliche Austausch dazu nahm weltweit zu.

Heute suchen viele Personen gezielt eine Ernährungsberatung auf, um das FODMAP-Konzept auszuprobieren. Und inzwischen nicht nur mit Reizdarmsyndrom, sondern auch mit anderen Verdauungsbeschwerden beispielsweise als Folge von Entzündungen oder Operationen im Bauchraum oder bei chronisch entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen und Zöliakie.

Vielen können durch diese (zusätzliche) Ernährungsumstellung ihre Beschwerden reduzieren und an Wohlbefinden zurückgewinnen. Das erfüllt mich, auch heute immer wieder, mit grosser Freude und Zufriedenheit!